Fing biceps tendon

I am so not into politics right now.  Funny that.

I’m throwing like a 19 year old again this year. With regular playing, can throw at full speed and decelerate without feeling like my arm is going to explode.

This is new .  I think most ballplayers shoulders go bad.  Mine went balky in 1997.  I quit playing for a couple years, then started again.  By I think it was end of 2003 I couldn’t throw, at all.  Couldn’t make the throw from 2nd to 1st.  I was whatever I was, 34 or 35.

Went in, had a mild arthroscopy…. They call it an acromioplasty.  Acromion is the end of a clavicle that will impinge your ‘rotator cuff’ in places.  Thing is, I suspect its ability to impinge heightens as you age and acquire thick adult guy muscles.  As well, Ortho doc discerned my ‘acromion’ was a type 3, which is a somewhat scarce genetic feature such that it was curvy and hooked.  And that it was cutting off my supraspinatus, big muscle band / tendon going into the rotator cuff from the arm.  This was a known phenomenon for people with the type 3 genetic acromion.

So, he relieved the bone there in his little Dremel arthroscopy operation.  And it worked, to a point.  Came back the next spring throwing, though it was not free and easy like when I was a kid / young man.  Always felt like I had to pull back so as to not tear my  …. bicep…. Which you don’t really throw with.

http://www.cleveland.com/tribe/index.ssf/2016/08/cleveland_indians_michael_bran_34.html

https://www.verywell.com/biceps-tendon-problems-2549799

Baseball fans and players get educated to various facets of orthopedics as time goes on and advancements are made.  Ya know, we know ‘labrums’ real well now as a function of sports medicine’s progress.  I don’t think we’ve had much notion of this biceps thing though, which seems somewhat simpler and I bet actually extraordinarily common.

But they do have a biceps tendon procedure now it appears.  I don’t need any work on mine.  I’ve thrown a lot this year, and an adhesion in there broke or it got the blood flow it needed and the biceps tendonitis I think I had since 1997 went away.  It’s the damndest thing.

Leave a comment