Copenhagen on their archipelago is an important place..

…yo. Drum having an obviopiphany https://jabberwocking.com/denmark/

I’m not knocking him this time. Such that I follow my interests and have, apparently, a capacity for late middle age learning, I also have gone “holy shit look at all that stuff on that thumb that sticks out off north Germany.”

Other stuff tangential:

***Doing the ancestry dot com. A thing is, I have my eye on a guy who left Gullabo, Sweden, in 1872, with a gal who he wifed up on the way, and he ends up running the Tozer sawmill in Bayport. I’m not a blood relative of him but it’s this kind of thing where he was passing the word back to the home village over the mail, telling people he’d hire them, and… my peeps took him up on that, came to Bayport.

You make that journey by going to Malmo, then Lubeck, Germany, then very briefly overland to Hamburg for a different ship. BECAUSE HAMBURG IS ON THIS INLAND ESTUARY THAT YOU CAN GET TO THE OCEAN FROM….. which I had no appreciation for on the map. Houston is an analog here I guess. Maybe even London in the UK if you want to call the Thames an estuary at that point.

***I think the granular details of that story sawmill peeps thing would be of interest to the historical society peeps here, but I’d have to write it up and do the author thing. Which I have before…

*** I might go to Sweden in 2025. Where I’m going, south Sweden…. as an aside, there’s this south Swede / north Swede (Stockholm…) thing going on with Swedes almost as there is with Italians. Almost. If only to say, south Sweden was poor like south Italy, and south Swedes went to America as south Italians did.

ANYWAY. You go to south Sweden, even to the Baltic side like I would, you probably fly to Copenhagen. Roundtrip ticket to Copenhagen on KLM has not spiked much over $600 for several years, so that’s good I’d say.

*** What’s with these 50 miles bridge and tunnels they build from Germany to Denmark to Sweden. I gotta see that.

*** Been bummed to know the Swedes won’t give you straight up dual citizenship when you’re 4 generations removed but with a clear as day pedigree for grandparent origin.

*** DISCLAIMER: I’m more Norwegian than Swede by composition (the dna test…) and pedigree, because my mom is a Giants of the Earth 1/2 Norskie and my dad is merely 1/4 Swede.

*** Yeah how about that Novo. $500B company. Yeah you could see that being a trillion market cap company if they muscle into the weight loss drug market. To say, a safe mega cap pharma stock that would double over 5-10 years ya figure.

*** https://www.bbc.com/news/business-68499740 I can explain this Swedish beat thing. I dont know if the Swedes knew they were musicial before Benny and Bjorn made it unambiguous that they are. If ya figure they have a pleasant beat groove ear worm rhythm going on in their heads at all times… well, I have that. And I certainly didn’t get it from Irishness.

Leave a comment