All in: now a MnSure Enrollee

Prior gig at MMM had employer health benefits through my vendor. I left that vendor to take this contracting gig at the state. New vendor is kind of a stripped down operation. The back office is just 1 person, this bright / energetic woman whose staff augmentation practice it is. So, she can pay a person on a w2 basis, like I’m used to, so I don’t have to take a corp to corp 1099 and do my own quarterly tax redemptions…. But she doesn’t offer health.

So MnSure it is. It’s the only game in town actually, you got to go to the exchange to get individual coverage, it’s not being brokered outside of that so far as I can tell.

Enrollment was fairly easy, with no F ups discerned. We get covered on 7/1.

Seems to be a boatload of plans on the MnSure exchange. Is not a situation where we lack for insurers. Don’t know how to square that with reports of mass insurer pull out in other places.

Chose a HealthPartners silver plan with HSA whose premium is $1381 a month. That’s even with what my paycheck deductions for health were before. But I don’t know what I’m getting here in some ways. I expect the deductibles are higher, maybe a bit higher. But I don’t feel ‘exposed’ so to speak, we’re covered.

My understanding of subsidy cutoff is that its $89K for fam of 4. I didn’t bother with the subsidy questionnaire.

We’re outside of open enrollment, so one thing they do is make you attest that you’ve had a qualifying life event that makes you eligible (… job change). I think critics used to complain that was an exploitable loop hole. Nah. The questionnaire routine is probably going to reveal the applicant as a liar if they are lying. And you attest under penalty of perjury.

Whole situation will require more management for us no doubt.

Leave a Reply

