Is the bucolic St. Croix valley a statistical hot spot for teen suicide? Or is this normal now.

My kids knew Colin here, were in activities and school with him.

http://blogs.mprnews.org/newscut/2017/04/a-child-dies-by-suicide/

Getting to be about a half dozen of these that I can think of in the valley in the last ten years.  Second one my kids knew.

I think I’m right in asserting this didn’t happen in the 80’s nearly so much. Or say, at all.

One thought on “Is the bucolic St. Croix valley a statistical hot spot for teen suicide? Or is this normal now.

  1. pm1956

    As to frequency, I am not certain. I do know that back in the ’70’s and ’80’s and ’90’s, there was not a lot of openness about this. evn if people knew about a suicide, no one talked about it, and there was almost never a newspaper article.

    That said, at least one of my highschool classmates committed suicide shortly after graduation, and one of my classmates older brothers committed suicide in highschool….and that was in a class of 80 people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

