Cubs v Indians

Analysis: true

http://theweek.com/articles/657174/2016-world-series-already-perfect

I tell ya, whatever one wants to say about baseball as an anachronism and, ya know…. a white peoples’ anachronism in these diverse times….  Baseball is popular, and for baseball a lot of thing go right these days.

Let’s face it, baseball is superior to football amirite.

The Ricketts… cuz I was wondering, who was it that hired Theo and the other stat heads that made the Cubs awesome

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_S._Ricketts

Boy, in 2009 $ the Cubs were $875M.  Seems very cheap now.

I see a big key to these teams’ success in their relief monsters.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/baseball/yankees/andrew-miller-aroldis-chapman-playing-key-roles-world-series-article-1.2843504

It’s my contention Chapman is probably the hardest thrower we’ve seen, ever, by a little.  It’s probably right to guess that Nolan Ryan had seasons, pre—radar, where he sat at 102. Chapman is probably a tick faster.  Chapman also superficially appears to have the longest leg to torso ratio of any human ever.  He’s tall anyway, but much of it is stork legs.  As a thrower I compare him to a freak of nature like Randy Johnson.

Andrew Miller throws what, a mere 97.  I was looking up his bbref, guy doesn’t give up any hits.  I haven’t seen him cuz we don’t have ESPN.  He’s left handed, I’m guessing he’s got a Steve Carlton type slider that does a fractal edge change of directions.

Advantage: Cubs

There’s a lot of poseur-ism in Cubs fandom but they do deserve to win.  It’s not like they are the Yankees.  Good team, they’d seem to have the edge on talent.

One thought on “Cubs v Indians

  1. pm1956

    I am looking forward to this world series. I am sort of rooting for the Cubbies, out of residual National League Central loyalty, but…I have always hated the Cubs. Or, perhaps more accurately, i have always enjoyed beating the Cubs (and then bringing up Ernie Broglio).

    Cleveland Indians do nothing for me either way. Probably i will end up rooting for whoever makes the most spectacular plays.

    (I have an idea that we might well come to think of the Cubs as a modern day version of the Yankees….and that worries me)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

