Making the mundane into the malevolent: Donald Trump Jr reads and chats on gun message boards

Deadspin has pulled some quotes from various threads Jr. has participated in.

http://theconcourse.deadspin.com/that-idiot-on-your-hunting-message-board-might-be-donal-1786882492

Here’s what I see as a gun culture guy:

• Jr. reloads ammo. This a positive attribute, should speak flatteringly to his character for a few reasons. Reloading is time consuming, and speaks to thrift and precision / fastidiousness.

• Jr. asks questions to learn technical and maintenance details (bows and arrows..) – also flattering of his character.

• Jr. has AR questions, asks them in terms of complying with NY law – there isn’t any crank bravado or ‘Molon Labe’ invoked there.

• Jr.’s hunting pictures are tasteful / respectful.

• Jr. has utilitarian message board user names that are his initials. He probably embraced that form merely because it was easy to remember. He doesn’t cock off about who he is, in his chatter about hunting Alaska or Africa he sounds pretty matter of fact, like any other guy’s guy affluent hunter I’ve been around. He’s not involved in conversations that bandies how expensive and elite it is, all that…. Maybe cuz it’s not so much these days. Exotic hunting has been democratized a bit like everything else.

• He is recorded there expressing derision to gun control and one its proponents, Rosie O’Donnell. Like father like son, but…. Meh. If I’m to rate him 1 to 10 on a scale of gun message board obnoxiousness, I rate him a 2, maybe 3. He’s positive and well behaved generally.

Understanding Jr.’s Trumpi-ness in general you’d have sense to guess he’s a dick… and I’m quite OK with entertaining that guess… but there’s zero that reveals it with his gun message board activity. Such that Jr’s internet wandering made public reveal his private life, he ain’t Anthony Weiner say.

I have logins at several of those message boards that Deadspin lists, though those aren’t among my handful of mainstays… I grew up with some hand-me-down of aptitude right, but my father didn’t give me the insight I have to ply the niche trade I ply. I learned that stuff substantially from reading gun message boards. The internet is an amazing thing, people of like minds gather and talk. On gunboards, guys talk about …. guns, with what I’d say is consistent fraternal politeness. Now, if you are guided by trope you may be moved to deduce…. the gunnies are on the right and the alt-right is on the right, right? And the alt-right probably likes guns…. Ipso facto, the gun boards are a hot bed of white guy anger, hating on blacks, mexicans, jews and muslims? There are a few assumptions Deadspin is trying to play to with this article, and that’s probably one of them. It’s not true. I’ve never, ever seen such a thread on the gun enthusiast boards, Id assert authoritatively there isn’t any 4chan/alt-right crossover to perceive in these places.

One thought on “Making the mundane into the malevolent: Donald Trump Jr reads and chats on gun message boards

  1. pm1956

    I’m not a gun guy, and I am not really a hunter. But I have done all of those thing (hunt, load ammo, shoot), with friends. And my friends do not tend to be alt-right folks. Well, there is one guy I grew up with and was a really good friend, who is a bit crazy on the gun rights side, and is probably an alt-right kind of guy (I haven’t talked to him probably since high school, and certainly since college, but I do keep hearing about him from classmates).

    And I do have one friend who is a gun guy and is working for Trump. He is also a political guy, professionally. Done lots of work for tobacco, etc. But definitely not an alt-right kind of person.

    I kind of get the idea that a lot of the alt-right are hugely into gaming and gaming culture, and got into the alt-right from that. And a lot of gamers are into guns from a more theoretical aspect–they only use guns in games. But they do seem to fetishize guns and hunting and all that stuff.

    So there is kind of a connection, but I think you are right–not the same thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

