Furlough jots

Hey I’m on a furlough, so as much as blogging is habituation, I haven’t been blogging…. Cuz I do that at work…. When I’m on paid time.

But here’s an effort nonetheless:

Jots w/ dots 9/16/15

Iron balls:  I was reading about the Battle of Britain, as yesterday was Battle of Britain Day.  ‘The Few’, Those guys had iron balls. Now, I understand that an even tempered evaluation of the situation prior to the months’ long air battle would probably conclude the Germans were not going to gain air superiority.  The potentiality there was really quite narrow… And then, if there was actually to be an invasion across the channel you still had the Royal Navy, which had already been fighting the Germans quite effectively in Norway.  But still, I’m not sure how this was assuring, I’m kind of astonished we were ambivalent and didn’t enter the war on behalf of the UK in August 1940.

http://blogs.mprnews.org/newscut/2015/09/kid-makes-clock-leaves-school-in-handcuffs/  I doubt the teacher / school would have wanted that the police arrest the kid, but… they shouldn’t have called the police then, because what you invariably get is a lowest common denominator response.  We’re talking about an institution that is incapable of seeing nuance.

Government is just the things we do together and if you don’t like it you should just go live in Somalia chortle chortle…:  http://hotair.com/archives/2015/09/15/eye-on-the-ball-democrat-wants-hearings-on-fantasy-football-websites/

Chait stains:  http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2015/09/barack-obama-versus-political-correctness.html  The President is wise here.  Is the sycophantic base going to listen?  I have my doubts.

Leave a Reply

