Along with sand and time, it’s like knowledge falling through the hourglass….

I’m so deep.

Up top is a peacemaker clone revolver, one of the first, as it left the factory in 1956.

Bottom is a barrel and frame I had sent out for work, that I just got back.  I needed the front sight stuck in its slot and soldered, then the barrel blued.

So my young gunsmith with a production bluing shop put the sight in backwards, and did a good job of soldering it permanently.  I’ve seen this on bubba’d up guns from back in the day you see here and there.  But it didn’t even occur to me that a pro gunsmith would not know which direction the sail on the sight points on a Colt single action style revolver.  But it happened, because the guy is young and this stuff is not relevant anymore.

I’m not angry at all, just bemused.  I do have to fix the sight, but I think I got it figured out.

2 thoughts on “Along with sand and time, it’s like knowledge falling through the hourglass….

Leave a Reply

