Things I didn’t know: advanced thought on gingers as a proxy for race discussions

http://america.aljazeera.com/opinions/2014/7/don-t-call-me-ginger.html

1. Cranky and recalcitrant as I am, I don’t actually disagree with this guy’s deconstructive cultural analysis here

2. I don’t watch South Park. My kids are both over 10 now, and I was somewhat surprised to find in the last year that South Park is still a thing. I was very well aware of Parker and Stone’s past real achievements in satire and irony spotting.

3.  I wouldn’t let my kids watch South Park.  They see it at other kids houses.

4. Chappelle’s inability to be ironic due to cultural ground shift or cultural ignorance is now something of a trope. Seen this observation a few times over the last couple months. It’s supposed to reflect poorly on white people I gather. Not sure I buy that.

5. I always thought in itself, ‘ginger’ was a very affectionate descriptor.

6. Though it’s probably dated, I’m still partial to the word ‘cute’ as an adjective. Ginger women tend to be cute. My wife, Ms. RiverRocks, is a ginger. She’s German / Irish…. Like Tom Hagen…. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Hagen

3 thoughts on “Things I didn’t know: advanced thought on gingers as a proxy for race discussions

  1. pm1956

    The “ginger thing” is, i think, more of an issue in Great Britain, where there really is some fairly widespread cultural negativity about gingers.

    Do you remember this?

    or this?
    http://en.memory-alpha.org/wiki/Let_That_Be_Your_Last_Battlefield_(episode)

    White people do not like to talk about race, particularly historical US racism. Too much guilt involved. South Park episode is a good way to start to generate some understanding while avoiding the guilt which shuts people down. Witness the recent discussions about reparations in the Atlantic as an example (http://www.theatlantic.com/features/archive/2014/05/the-case-for-reparations/361631/)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

