Hypocrisy watch watch:  remembering that Hillary was against gay marriage before she was for it

HC: “I think you are trying to say that I used to be opposed and now I am in favor and I did it for political reasons, and that’s just flat wrong. “

That’s right, that’s what Gross is saying.  And Hillary’s indignity aside, of course it’s the truth.  I think what I’m actually astonished at is that this is an apparently earnest question by Gross.  I mean, the ground shifted under everyone’s feet for sure, but before that you figure the Democrat base was giving its candidates a fair amount of leeway to make this absurd pander to moderates, swing voters, and other squares about their commitment to a defense of traditional marriage.  They are just not traditionalists on the whole, and the GLBT has a great influence within the party specifically.

It’s clearer in hindsight now.  People exceeding a modest understanding of politics know that elected Democrats were lying about their objection to gay marriage.  The Democrat base gave them a pass on the lie, if in fact they were not in on the truth.

Gross can not be oblivious to this knowledge.  So I don’t know why she asks the question and has an expectation that there’s a genuine, clarifying answer to be gotten.

PS: I’m for marriage equality, in case I have to say it again

2 thoughts on “Hypocrisy watch watch:  remembering that Hillary was against gay marriage before she was for it

Leave a Reply

