Memewatch: gay wedding cakes

The right side is winning, eh?  Gays can come out of the closet, play major league sports, get married.  I see that gays and lesbians are even penetrating the film industry in California.  All good stuff.  This is not going to be a big deal in the future, and I don’t have much pithy observation on the current culture war showdowns.

I do say, to the fundies worried that someone is going to have to fulfill a cake order they don’t want to for a gay wedding:  Really?  This is the real world manifestation of your principled objection?  C’mon man.   I’m taking this overly literal, I’m sure.  I mean, cakes is just an analogy, for the most part.  It’s just that it sucks as an analogy.  If I was a cake shop proprietor there’s no way I’d turn down a cake job for a couple hundred bucks because the betrothed were gay.  What you do is, take your cake payment, and fulfill your cake order.

In terms of memes, on the other side there is a Facebook viral going around that makes this public accommodations quarrel analogous to a lunch counter discrimination in the south way back when.  That’s probably an overstatement, and its not quite tweaking my moral outrage.

5 thoughts on “Memewatch: gay wedding cakes

  1. pm1956

    I have to say that I am amazed at how quickly public opinion on this issue has turned. I suppose that i understand how the fundamentalists (who still have their knickers in a knot) are confused and angry about a world turned upside down, but the whole idea of trying to use freedom of religion as a basis for discrimination seems poorly thought out. Could catholics discriminate against protestants? Christians against Mormons?

    The fact that seemingly everyone was urging Gov Brewer to veto that bill suggests that the fundamentalists are becoming somewhat more isolated on the right. I think that is a good thing for the country as a whole– I’d love to see less religion in politics.

    Reply
  2. pm1956

    Perhaps on a related note:

    both Chait (http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2014/02/republican-designs-tax-reform-plan-thats-good.html ) and Yglesias (http://www.slate.com/blogs/moneybox/2014/02/27/dave_camp_tax_reform_plan_gop_is_hesitant_but_that_s_good_news.html ) have good things to say about the new GOP tax reform proposal. I doubt that anything will happen this year, but it will be interesting to see how this sets up as an issue, and if there is a possibility of a bipartisan effort to do something, and it succeeds.

    I tend to think that the influence of the fundamentalists has been noxious and extremely partisan. Perhaps their declining influence could result in some bipartisan efforts succeeding?

    Reply
    1. Erik Petersen Post author

      I just read this whole thing as well. I don’t know how to feel about Chait being so complementary.

      Thing is, it’s a moderate tax plan, and not particularly progressive (which is good, I think). Oddly, Chait says that’s OK…. for now. But you have to figure the Camp plan gets demagogued by the left as politics dictate. Drum doesn’t like the Camp plan, neither does prospect.org.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

